Schools as Community Hubs International Conference 2020

Conference

Online conference

More Information

Sarah Backhouse / Phuong Nguyen

building-connections@unimelb.edu.au

The University of Melbourne
3-4 December 2020

Register here

Building Connections

The relationships between schools and communities are often complex. Educating young people invariably remains the principal goal, yet additional objectives commonly emerge. As cities around the world intensify and societal dynamics change, pressure on schools to become ‘more than a school’ appears to be increasing. The Schools as Community Hubs International Conference explores the expanded roles of schools, investigating how and in what ways schools may offer more to their communities – historically, currently, and into the future.

Given the ongoing nature of the global pandemic, the conference will now be delivered online.

We look forward to seeing you in December!

Date and time

The conference programme will be split across 2 days to support maximum participation across your time zones:

  • AEDT (Sydney/Melbourne/Hobart/Canberra): 9:00am – 1:00pm on Thursday 3 and Friday 4 December 2020;
  • ACDT (Adelaide): 8:30am – 12:30pm, Thursday 3 and Friday 4 December;
  • AEST (Brisbane): 8:00am – 12:00pm, Thursday 3 and Friday 4 December;
  • U.S. EST (Philadelphia/Baltimore/New York): 5:00pm – 9:00pm, Wednesday 2 and Thursday 3 December;
  • GMT (London): 10:00pm – 2:00am, Wednesday 2 and Thursday 3 December (rolled over to next morning);
  • CET (Paris): 11:00pm – 3:00am, Wednesday 2 and Thursday 3 December (rolled over to next morning).

Key deadlines*

  • 5 December 2019: Call for papers opens (lapsed)
  • 24 February 2020: Abstracts due for blind peer-review (lapsed)
  • 17 March 2020: Notification of successful submissions (lapsed)
  • 24 August 2020: Conference paper of 1500-2000 words due for peer-review (lapsed)
  • 5 October 2020: Return of reviewer comments to presenters for inclusion in final paper for conference proceedings (lapsed)
  • 9 November 2020: Re-submission of final conference paper for publication in proceedings
  • 26 November 2020: Submission of pre-recorded presentations.
  • 3-4 December 2020: Conference dates.

* in Australian times.

Conference Program

Schools as Community Hubs Conference bannerDownload conference program**

Event host:

Dr Philippa Chandler.

Day 1

Day 2

** All times in AEDST (Melbourne time). Program subject to change.
+ Speaker profile will be progressively released. Click on each paper title above to read its abstract and author(s)' bio(s).

View speaker profile +

Registration fees

Speakers/Paper authors

  • 250AUD per paper - registered by at least one author/speaker
  • 95AUD per additional speaker -  general registration for additional registrants associated with each paper

Attendees

  • 95AUD - General registration for conference participants
  • 45AUD - Discounted registration for conference participants (student/unwaged)

Please note: The proceeds from ticket sales will a) support production of the Conference Proceedings, and b) contribute to the Open Access fees for an edited book bringing together key insights from the Building Connections research project.


Australian Research Council logo

This research is supported under Australian Research Council’s Linkage Projects funding scheme [LP170101050]. The views expressed herein are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the Australian Research Council.

LEaRN Logo Building Connections logo

Partner organisations

Building Connections partners logo